Thursday, February 26, 2015

Sangamon CEO

I wanted to share some information about a local program called Sangamon CEO. Sangamon CEO is about Creating Entrepreneurial Opportunities (CEO).  It is a year-long experience that aims to empower talented young adults to become innovator problem-solvers and enterprising, action-oriented entrepreneurs.  Students visit area businesses, learn from experts, participate in a class business, write business plans, and start and operate their own business.  

The class meets for 1 ½ hours each school day from 7:30-9:00 am at a multitude of locations throughout the area.  The program is open to all Sangamon County high school seniors in good standing that can provide their own transportation to our many class sites.

To find out more about our program, visit  If you have any questions, feel free to contact the lead instructor, Mr. Mackey at

The application must be completed in full by 5 PM March 13, 2015, including:

  1.  Three letters of references (which can be downloaded at and emailed
  2.  Copies of your transcripts and attendance record (from your guidance counselor and emailed to

You will be notified regarding the status of your application by April 10, 2015 through email or your guidance counselor.   

Tuesday, February 24, 2015

Plains boys help SHG hockey

Top L to R:Griffin Tebrugge, RJ Wood, Alexander Wik
Bottom: Keith Steele

 Four PPHS boys who play on the SHG Hockey team just helped knock off Chatham in the Playoffs! They won 10-5 to advance to the Championship Game against Bloomington this Wednesday night! The game starts at 7:00 pm at the Nelson Center in case any PPHS sports fans would like to cheer them on!

Monday, February 23, 2015

Senior Night

Congratulations to our seniors, and a big thanks for your hard work and commitment. L to R: Tom Bohrer, Miguel Bohrer, Pam Bohrer, Hallie Hayes, Mike Hayes, Alice Hayes, Scott Bee, Dylan Bee, Michelle Bee.

Thursday, February 19, 2015

PARCC information

This year in Illinois we begin a new  state assessment called PARCC. The Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Careers is a consortium of states working together to develop common assessments in Math and English Language Arts(ELA) in grades K-12. The PARCC has replaced the PSAE at the High School level.

At the High School, students in ELA III, Algebra II, or Integrated Math 3 will be required to take PARCC. PARCC consists of two tests; the Performance-Based Assessment (PBA) and the End-of-Year Assessment (EOY) . The two tests will occur during two separate "testing windows". The first window will be used for the PBA. The PBA is designed to be completed in the above mentioned courses courses after roughly 75% of instruction. At Plains, we will take our PARCC PBA beginning March 9th. The EOY assessment is designed to be given after roughly 90% of instruction has taken place. At Plains, we will take our PARCC EOY assessment beginning the week of April 27th. The testing windows are 2 weeks and will be done in the classroom.While the testing window is 2 weeks,  we will not use all of that time.

The PBA test will consist of 3 parts ELA and 2 parts Math. The EOY test will consist of 2 parts ELA and 2 parts Math. Students will take both components and the scores will be combined for a summative score.

For more information, please visit

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Congratulations to Claire Neibergall

Congratulations to Claire Neibergall who has committed to play soccer at Lenoir-Rhyne University. Lenoir-Rhyne is a Division II school located in Hickory, North Carolina and has approximately 2000 students. In 2014, they were ranked 11th nationally.

Pictured with Claire is HS coach Greg Bryan

Wednesday, February 4, 2015

Congratulations to the WYSE team

For those of you that don't know, WYSE(Worldwide Youth in Science and Engineering) is a high school academic competition consisting of several subject areas including biology, chemistry, physics, math, english, etc. Our 2015 WYSE academic team took first place in their division at the regional competition at LLCC yesterday. Congratulations to the following students on their awards. 

 Individual medal winners were:

TJ Covey 1st in biology
Alec Saebeler 2nd in chemistry, Michelle Hedlund 3rd in chemistry
Beverly Watson 2nd in computer science, Zach Pappas and Josh Davis tied for 3rd in computer science

 Alec Saebeler 3rd in engineering graphics
 Sam McGraw 1st in English
 Zach Ross 1st in mathematics, Connor Riddle 3rd in mathematics

 Sam McGraw 1st in physics, and Zach Ross 2nd in physics.